Information Letter: Provincial landowner notification requirements and considerations on First Nation lands

Original January 2020, updated November 2021 to include Liability Reduction Program.

Background

Industry is required to engage with landowners at various stages of oil and gas development, typically by way of personal consultation or written notification, sometimes in order to satisfy provincial licencing requirements (provincial landowner notification). This includes activities such as licence amendments and cancellations, facility installations and modifications, and abandonment activities. Certificates of title issued by the province are typically reviewed by industry to determine which persons or organizations hold legal title to a piece of land (landowner) to ensure they engage with the appropriate landowner.

First Nation reserve land (First Nation lands) is defined in the Indian Act as "…a tract of land, the legal title to which is vested in Her Majesty, which has been set apart by Her Majesty for the use and benefit of a band…" These lands are unique from other land in that:

Although legal title to the lands is held by the federal Crown, industry is required to engage with First Nations prior to issuing a landowner notification and to send such notifications to the First Nation, Certificate of Possession (CP) Holders (see box below), and the federal Crown.

Certificate of Possession Holders

Note that some First Nations have allotted lawful possession to a parcel of land within their lands to one or more members of their Nation in accordance with s20 of the Indian Act; such allotments are evidenced by the issuance of a Certificate of Possession. This creates a unique form of individual land tenure that shifts the right to the use and benefit of the allotted lands from being the collective right of the First Nation to being the right of possession of the individual First Nation member. Certificate holders are commonly referred to as Locatees or CP Holders and their certificates are registered in the Indian Lands Registry System (ILRS) by Indigenous Services Canada.

Notifications for activities on First Nation Traditional Lands (i.e. lands not held by the federal Crown) are outside of IOGC's mandate and are not subject to this information letter.

Landowner notification information requirements on First Nation lands

In addition to provincial regulatory requirements, notifications associated with First Nation lands must contain the following five information components:

  1. First Nation reserve name and number, in full
    1. Note: this information can be confirmed through various sources available to the public, including the First Nation Profiles and CLSS Map Browser websites, or by reviewing the information contained within the surface contract (e.g. surface lease, right-of-way)
  2. legal land description of where the work will be carried out on the First Nation lands (e.g. LSD 1-2-3-4 W5M)
  3. IOGC surface contract number (e.g. OS-9999, RW-9999)
    1. Note: If you are uncertain as to this number, contact the Liability Reduction Program (LRP) Project Team (LRP-PRP@sac-isc.gc.ca) for work funded by the provincial site rehabilitation and liability reduction programs (provincial programs), and the Lease Administration Unit (vishal.saini@sac-isc.gc.ca) for all other surface contracts
  4. program and increment, period, or phase if the work is funded by one of the provincial programs (e.g. Alberta Site Rehabilitation Program Period 6)
  5. map identifying the location of where the work will be carried out on the First Nation lands (e.g. survey plan, aerial image)
    1. Note: most survey plans associated with the surface contract have been recorded and issued a unique number; these plans are available for download through the CLSS Map Browser and the Survey Plan Search websites

Completeness of First Nation lands notifications

Landowner notifications lacking one or more of the above will not be acknowledged by IOGC until all deficiencies are remedied.

Landowner notification process

Landowner notifications should only be submitted to the First Nation, CP Holder, and IOGC once industry engagement with the First Nation is complete. The two main types of landowner notifications on First Nation lands should be sent as follows:

Work funded by one of the provincial programs

TO: Chief and Council
‹ Name of First Nation ›
c/o Oil and Gas Representative
‹ mailing address or email address, as specified by the First Nation ›

TO: For Certificate of Possession lands, if applicable
‹ First Nation Member in Lawful Possession of the lands / CP Holder ›
‹ mailing address or email address, as specified by the First Nation Member ›

CC: Project Manager, Liability Reduction Program
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
LRP-PRP@sac-isc.gc.ca

Liability Reduction Program notification reminders

Only notifications associated with one of the provincial programs can be sent to IOGC by email.

Ensure you include the IOGC contract number in the subject line, e.g. "Abandonment Notification (RW-9999)"

All other notifications

TO: Chief and Council
‹ Name of First Nation ›
c/o Oil and Gas Representative
‹ mailing address or email address, as specified by the First Nation ›

TO: For Certificate of Possession lands, if applicable
‹ First Nation Member in Lawful Possession of the lands / CP Holder ›
‹ mailing address or email address, as specified by the First Nation Member ›

CC: Manager, Environment
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100-9911 Chiila Blvd
Tsuut'ina AB T3T 0E1

Original copies only

An original copy must be sent to IOGC's office, as emails will not be accepted. The notification will be scanned into IOGC's electronic repository.

Other IOGC consultation and notification requirements

Landowner notifications sent pursuant to provincial regulatory requirements do not negate or replace IOGC's consultation and notification requirements for oil and gas development on First Nation lands, which are summarized in the "Environmental Review Form Guide."

For more information

Manager, Environment
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100-9911 Chiila Blvd
Tsuut'ina AB T3T 0E1
Telephone: 403-292-5625
Email: aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Lettre d'information : Exigences provinciales en matière d'avis aux propriétaires fonciers et considérations relatives aux terres des Premières Nations

Lettre originale janvier 2020, mise à jour novembre 2021 pour inclure le programme de réduction du passif.

Contexte

L'industrie est tenue de s'engager auprès des propriétaires fonciers à différents stades lorsqu'elle réalise des activités d'exploitation pétrolière et gazière, généralement par le biais d'une consultation personnelle ou d'un avis écrit, parfois afin de satisfaire aux exigences provinciales en matière de permis (avis aux propriétaires fonciers). Cela comprend des activités telles que les modifications ou annulations de permis, les nouvelles installations ou les modifications à une installation et les activités de fermeture. Les certificats de titre délivrés par la province sont généralement examinés par l'industrie pour déterminer quelles personnes ou organisations détiennent le titre légal d'un terrain (propriétaire foncier) afin de s'assurer qu'ils s'engagent avec le propriétaire foncier approprié.

Les terres de réserve des Premières Nations (terres des Premières Nations) sont définies dans la Loi sur les Indiens comme une « parcelle de terrain dont Sa Majesté est propriétaire et qu'elle a mise de côté à l'usage et au profit d'une bande ». Ces terres se différencient d'autres terres en ce sens que :

Bien que le titre légal des terres soit détenu par la Couronne fédérale, l'industrie est tenue de s'engager auprès des Premières Nations avant de délivrer un avis de propriétaire foncier et d'envoyer tels avis à la Première Nation, aux détenteurs de certificats de possession (CP) (voir l'encadré ci-dessous) et à la Couronne fédérale.

Détenteurs du certificat de possession

Il est à noter que certaines Premières Nations ont attribué la possession légale d'une parcelle de terre située sur leurs terres à un ou plusieurs membres de leur nation, conformément à l'Art. 20 de la Loi sur les Indiens; ces attributions sont attestées par la délivrance d'un certificat de possession. Cela crée une forme unique de régime foncier individuel qui fait passer le droit à l'utilisation et aux avantages des terres attribuées du droit collectif de la Première Nation au droit de possession du membre individuel de la Première Nation. Les détenteurs de certificats sont communément appelés les Titulaires individuels ou les Détenteurs de CP et leurs certificats sont enregistrés dans le Système d'enregistrement des terres indiennes (SETI) par les Services aux Autochtones du Canada.

Les avis d'activités sur les terres traditionnelles des Premières Nations (c'est-à-dire les terres qui ne sont pas détenues par la Couronne fédérale) ne relèvent pas du mandat de PGIC et ne sont pas visés par la présente lettre d'information.

Exigences en matière d'information des propriétaires fonciers sur les terres des Premières Nations

En plus de ce qui est prévu dans les exigences réglementaires provinciales, les avis associés aux terres des Premières Nations doivent contenir les renseignements suivants :

  1. le nom et le numéro de la réserve de la Première Nation en entier;
    1. Remarque : ces renseignements peuvent être confirmés par diverses sources accessibles au public, notamment les sites Web des Profils des Premières Nations et du navigateur cartographique des Arpentages des terres du Canada, ou en examinant l'information dans le contrat de surface (p. ex. bail de surface, droit de passage).
  2. la description officielle de l'endroit où les travaux seront effectués sur les terres de réserve de la Première Nation (p. ex., SL 1-2-3-4 O5M);
  3. le numéro de contrat de surface de PGIC (p. ex., OS-999, RW-9999);
    1. Remarque : si vous n'êtes pas certain du numéro, communiquez avec l'équipe de projet PRP (LRP-PRP@sac-isc.gc.ca) pour les travaux financés dans le cadre des programmes provinciaux pour la remise en état des sites et la réduction du passif (programmes provinciaux), et avec le Secteur de l'administration des baux vishal.saini@sac-isc.gc.ca pour toute autre contrat de surface.
  4. le programme et l'étape, la période, ou la phase si les travaux à effectuer sont financés dans le cadre d'un des programmes provinciaux (p. ex. période 6 de l'Alberta Site Rehabilitation Program - non disponible en français);
  5. la carte illustrant l'endroit où les travaux seront effectués sur les terres de réserve de la Première Nation (p. ex., plan d'arpentage, image aérienne).
    1. Remarque : la plupart des plans d'arpentage associés au contrat de surface ont été enregistrés et ont reçu un numéro unique; ces plans peuvent être téléchargés à partir des sites Web du navigateur cartographique des Arpentages des terres du Canada, et de la Recherche des plan d'arpentage.

Intégralité des avis des terres des Premières Nations

Les avis des propriétaires fonciers qui ne répondent pas à un ou plusieurs des critères ci-dessus ne seront pas reconnues par PGIC tant que toutes les lacunes n'auront pas été comblées.

Processus des propriétaires fonciers

Des avis doivent seulement être envoyés à la Première Nation, le détenteur du certificat de possession, et PGIC une fois que la consultation de l'industrie avec la Première Nation est terminée. Les deux principaux types d'avis aux propriétaires fonciers sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations doivent être envoyés comme suit :

Travaux financés dans le cadre d'un des programmes provinciaux

À : Chef et conseil
‹ Nom de la Première Nation ›
A/s de Représentant de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière
‹ adresse postale ou adresse courriel, comme précisée par la Première Nation ›

À : ‹ Membre de la Première Nation en possession légitime des terres ›
‹ adresse postale ou adresse courriel, comme précisée par la Première Nation ›

Cc : Gestionnaire de projet, Programme de réduction des passifs
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
LRP-PRP@sac-isc.gc.ca

Rappels des avis du Programme de réduction des passifs

Seuls les avis ayant trait à l'un des programmes provinciaux peuvent être envoyés à PGIC par courriel.

Veuillez vous assurer d'inclure le numéro de contrat de PGIC dans la ligne d'objet, p. ex. « Avis d'abandon (RW‑9999) »

Tous les autres avis

À : Chef et conseil
‹ Nom de la Première Nation ›
A/s de Représentant de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière
‹ adresse postale ou adresse courriel, comme précisée par la Première Nation ›

À : ‹ Membre de la Première Nation en possession légitime des terres ›
‹ adresse postale ou adresse courriel, comme précisée par la Première Nation ›

Cc : Gestionnaire, Environnement
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
Tsuut'ina (AB) T3T 0E1

Uniquement les copies originales

Une copie originale doit être envoyé au bureau de PGIC, car les courriels ne seront pas acceptés. L'avis sera balayé et versé dans le dépôt électronique de PGIC;

Autres obligations de consultation et d'avis de PGIC

Les avis aux propriétaires fonciers envoyés conformément aux exigences réglementaires provinciales n'annulent ni ne remplacent les exigences de Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada en matière de consultation et d'avis au sujet de l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière sur les terres des Premières Nations, qui sont résumées dans le « Guide pour remplir le formulaire d'examen environnemental ».

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Gestionnaire, Environnement
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
Tsuut'ina (AB) T3T 0E1
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Courriel : aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date de modification :