About IOGC

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is an organization committed to managing and regulating oil and gas resources on First Nation reserve lands. It is a special operating agency within Indigenous Services Canada (ISC).

IOGC is responsible for oil and gas on First Nation reserve lands across Canada, but only a handful of reserves exist north of the 60th parallel. Therefore, practically all of IOGC's work is south of the 60th parallel, with most of that in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin.

IOGC's general responsibilities are to:

IOGC operates pursuant to the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009, and its associated Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 2019, as well as other relevant legislation and guidelines (see Acts and Regulations). Oil and gas activity on First Nation reserve lands depends on agreements involving First Nation band councils, oil and gas companies, and Indian Oil and Gas Canada.

Co-Management Board

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) operates under the direction of a Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director who participates as a member of the nine-member Board of Directors. The Board was established in 1996 by the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and the Indian Resource Council (IRC). The MOU established a Board of Directors to initially co-manage IOGC operations, focusing on areas of collective interests, such as IOGC issues, policies, plans, priorities and resources. Six of the nine Board members are selected by the IRC and three by the Crown. Two Board members serve as co-chairs, the Chairman of the IRC and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development, Indigenous Services Canada.

Organizational Structure

Executive Directorate

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer - S. Crowfoot

RIMS2 Project Manager - S. Taylor

Manager, Communications and Executive Services - J. Morin

Regulatory Compliance Directorate

Director - J. Schatz

Manager, Environment - E. McIvor

Manager, Compliance and Enforcement – A. Nandiwada

Manager, Policy - P. McNeil

Manager, Resource Analysis and Conservation - H. Chang

Lease and Royalty Administration Directorate

Director - J. Dempsey

Manager, Negotiations, Contracts and Research - E. Myketyn

Acting Manager, Lease Administration - V. Saini

Manager, Royalty - M. Jivraj

Planning & Corporate Services Directorate

Director - B. Cherniawsky

Acting Manager, Contracts and Administration Services – D. Clarke

Acting Manager, Financial Services - T. Hunter

Manager, Human Resources - M. Jacobs

Acting Manager, Information Technology – A. Rose

Date modified: